What "bio-based" means in this guide
In this guide, bio-based means materials whose main raw material is plant or animal biomass, as our profiles describe them: tree bark, grass, hemp and flax fibre, straw, wood fibre, sheep wool, recovered paper, linseed oil and the mycelium composites grown on agricultural residues. This is our editorial scope, not a standard, a certification or a performance claim.
Many of these products also contain other components, and the profiles name them: a PET binder in some sheep wool products, polyurethane resin in one wood fibre board, phenolic resins in bamboo, lime in hempcrete, and limestone in linoleum.[9][7][3][4][12] Straw bale is in the first table and discussed again under structure.
Bio-based materials at a glance
The tables repeat what each profile states, with its units, standards and test conditions; each row links to the profile that lists the primary sources. Nothing is converted or averaged, and "not stated" means the profile has no value. The columns are not like-for-like, so a lower figure in one row is not a verdict on the product.
(a) Insulation materials
| Material (profile) | Thermal conductivity (λ), as stated | Density, as stated | Reaction to fire, as stated | Src |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wood fibre insulation | Declared 0.038 W/(m·K) for STEICOflex 038, Pavaflex, Gutex Thermofibre and Hunton Nativo; 0.041 for Pavatherm-Combi. In a University of Maine test of dry-process boards at 23.9 °C mean temperature, λ rose from 0.038 at 110 kg/m³ to 0.047–0.048 at 140–180 kg/m³. | Loose fill 25–50 kg/m³ depending on the application (Gutex); batts about 50 kg/m³; boards 110–180 kg/m³ in the independent test, 145 kg/m³ for Pavatherm-Combi. | Euroclass E under EN 13501-1 on every datasheet we read (batts, board, loose fill). Loose fill carries added fire retardant. | [7] |
| Cellulose insulation | Declared 0.038 W/(m·K) for Climacell (ETA-08/0009), Warmcel (dry) and the ECIA average; 0.037 for Isocell (ETA-06/0076). | Installed 30–50 kg/m³ for exposed horizontal layers and 45–60 kg/m³ for wall cavities (Climacell ETA). | Euroclass E under EN 13501-1 in the basic case. B-s2, d0 where the ETA's end-use conditions are met (Climacell, Isocell for ≥ 100 mm). Warmcel's datasheet states C-s1, d0 for the dry material; its declaration of performance gives Class E. | [10] |
| Sheep wool insulation | 0.039 W/(m·K) for Thermafleece CosyWool roll at 18 kg/m³; 0.037 average for the Isolena range, with 0.033 stated for its 30 kg/m³ Klemmfilz; 0.0493 for loose-fill NITA-WOOL at 18 kg/m³, per its ETA. All are manufacturer-declared values. | 18 kg/m³ (CosyWool roll) to 31 kg/m³ (UltraWool slab); 18 to 100 kg/m³ across the Isolena range, 23.26 kg/m³ on average. | Euroclass E for Thermafleece CosyWool (declared by the manufacturer under system 4, no notified body); D-s2,d0 on the two Isolena datasheets we read, while its EPD gives B, C or D classes depending on the product; B-s3,d0 for borate-treated NITA-WOOL. | [9] |
| Flax insulation | Isovlas PL 0.038 and PN 0.035 W/(m·K), tested at 10 °C. NATURIZOL λD 0.039. Flachshaus ETA: 0.039 (category 1) or 0.038 (category 2). An independent agency table gives 0.04–0.045 for flax in general. | 30–50 kg/m³ in the Flachshaus ETA; 32 kg/m³ for NATURIZOL (JUTA); 20–80 kg/m³ as a general range. Not stated on the Isovlas documents. | Euroclass E for the Flachshaus boards and NATURIZOL. Isovlas lists Euroclass C, from an SBI test result of C-s2,d0. | [11] |
| Hemp-fibre insulation (batts) | 0.039 W/(m·K) (IndiTherm); 0.041 (Thermo Hanf). | 45 kg/m³ (IndiTherm); 35–48 kg/m³ (Thermo Hanf). | Euroclass E, a low class, for both examples. | [4] |
| Cork (expanded insulation board) | 0.039 W/(m·K) for expanded insulation board (0.040 as ACERMI-certified). Example: Amorim, May 2026 datasheet. | 110 ± 10 kg/m³ (expanded insulation board). | Euroclass E (EN 13501-1) for expanded insulation board. | [1] |
| Straw bale (site-built or panel wall insulation) | German approval: design value 0.052 W/(m·K) across the stems (0.080 along them in the version of 22 January 2014). ETA-17/0247 (21 June 2017): 0.043 W/(m·K) dry at 10 °C and a nominal 0.048 at 23 °C/50 % RH across the stems. | German approval: every test value between 85 and 115 kg/m³. The US model code sets a minimum dry density of 104 kg/m³ (6.5 lb/ft³). | Bales alone: class E under EN 13501-1, "normally flammable". A German general test certificate classifies a load-bearing timber-stud wall with Baustroh insulation and clay or lightweight lime-cement plaster as F30-B (a German classification, DIN 4102-2, not a Euroclass). | [8] |
Fire classes are Euroclasses under EN 13501-1 unless the cell says otherwise, and thermal values may be declared, design or test values.
(b) Surfaces, finishes and other uses
| Material and use (profile) | Thermal conductivity (λ), as stated | Density, as stated | Reaction to fire, as stated | Other properties the profile states | Src |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cork flooring | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated (the profile says flooring and panels have their own classification) | Not stated in the fact sheet. The cork profile says natural cork should not go in wet areas such as showers without proper sealing (general guidance, not a cited test). | [1] |
| Cork wall tiles | 0.05 W/(m·K) (EN 12667) in Granorte's datasheets; 0.0577 W/m·K in Amorim's Dekwall and Burel sheets. | Apparent density 200 to 330 kg/m³ across Granorte's solid and veneered tiles (ISO 7322); Amorim states ≥ 200 kg/m³ (EN 672). | Class E in every tile datasheet we opened (Granorte cites EN 13501-1; Amorim's sheets give E against EN 11925-2 without naming EN 13501-1). | Declared weighted sound absorption αw 0.05 to 0.25 (EN ISO 354). Moisture content below 8 % (Granorte tiles, EN 12105); Granorte's guarantee excludes wet or permanently damp areas. | [2] |
| Linoleum flooring | 0.17 W/(m·K) in Forbo's datasheet, citing EN 12524; the profile reads it as a design value, not a test result. Tarkett states a thermal resistance of about 0.015 m²·K/W for 2.5 mm. | Weight per area, not density: Forbo states 2,300, 2,900 and 3,900 g/m² for 2.0, 2.5 and 3.2 mm. | Marmoleum 2.0 mm: Cfl-s1 under EN 13501-1. Tarkett range: Cfl-s1. DLW Marmorette Bfl-s1, 2.5 mm: Bfl-s1. | Forbo declares TVOC below 0.05 mg/m³ after 28 days (EN 16516). No sorption or dimensional-change data found. | [12] |
| Bamboo (beams, boards, plywood) | 0.26 W/(m·K), the design value in the German approval for N-finity beams. No data found for other bamboo products. | About 700 kg/m³ (laminated beams) · 1,050–1,200 kg/m³ (dassoXTR decking) · 690 kg/m³ (plywood). | Densified boards: Bfl-s1 and B-s1-d0 for MOSO X-treme cladding, Bs1-d0 for dasso boards. Laminated N-finity beams: D-s2-d0 in the MOSO datasheet (EN 13501-1), class E in the German approval. | Laminated beams: shrink/swell 0.14% per 1% moisture-content change; interior use class 1. dassoXTR boards: swelling 4.6% in thickness, 0.6% in width (EN 15534-1). | [3] |
| Linen (textile) | Not stated: no λ or R-value for linen fabric was found. | Not stated for pure-linen fabrics. Camira's wool–flax blend: 437 g/m² ±5 %. | Upholstery is tested as a cover-and-filling combination under EN 1021-1 (cigarette), not as fabric alone. Camira lists EN 13501-1 "adhered" class B-s1,d0 for its wool–flax blend, as a company datasheet claim. No fire data for pure, untreated linen. | No linen-specific Martindale (abrasion) or ignition test data found. | [6] |
| Mycelium (acoustic panels) | 0.050 W/(m·K) for Mogu Acoustic panels (EN 12664-2, 40 mm). Research range 0.036–0.06 W/(m·K), strongly dependent on substrate and process. | 120 kg/m³ for Mogu Acoustic panels. Reviewed research composites span 25–954 kg/m³. | Mogu Acoustic: Euroclass B-s2-d0 (EN 13501-1) with the finish its datasheet labels "Fire-Proof"; D-s2-d0 with the standard coloured finish. | Dimensional change: under 0.4% at 40 °C/70% RH and −2.0% at 70 °C/90% RH (EN 1604). TVOC 15 µg/m²h in a 28-day chamber test, manufacturer-reported. | [5] |
| Hempcrete (hemp shiv and lime) | 0.07–0.09 W/(m·K) typical; 0.071 at 50% RH for IsoHemp's 36 cm block; 0.09–0.16 across lab mixes. | 270–330 kg/m³ typical; 320 ± 10% bulk density (IsoHemp blocks). | IsoHemp block B-s1,d0 uncoated, A2 with a non-flammable render (EN 13501-1). | Block μ 2.8. Typical compressive strength 0.1–0.2 N/mm² for non-loadbearing hemp-lime walls (BRE, as the hemp profile reports it). | [4] |
Table (b) mixes products with different jobs, and several values are design values or research ranges. Carbon figures are left out of both tables because declared units differ: not comparable; they are listed with their units under declared carbon below.
How to choose between bio-based materials
This section sets out the conditions and trade-offs each profile states for an application, then the constraints that cut across them. It ranks nothing.
By application
Insulating a wall or roof. Between rafters, joists and studs, the profiles describe wood fibre batts, sheep wool mats and rolls, flax mats and hemp-fibre batts; the Flachshaus flax approval (valid until 2014, per the flax profile) lists timber-frame cavities without compression loads and protected from precipitation.[7][9][11][4] For continuous insulation over rafters or behind rear-ventilated cladding, the wood fibre profile describes rigid boards (the 40 mm Pavatherm-Combi is not approved for roofs); the cork profile lists Amorim's expanded cork board for roofs, walls, floors, partitions and ceilings, with Euroclass E the point to check first for facades.[7][1] For lofts and closed cavities the profiles cover loose fill: cellulose (30–50 kg/m³ in horizontal layers and 45–60 kg/m³ in wall cavities in the Climacell ETA, with settlement to allow for), wood fibre, sheep wool (NITA-WOOL's ETA covers closed cavities in horizontal or pitched roofs up to 10° and accessible top-storey ceilings without foot traffic) and flax (an ETA for floor fill and one attic study of flax shives), where the profile calls the evidence narrower and gives no λ or settlement value.[10][7][9][11]
Flooring. Cork floors are sold as floating planks and glue-down tiles; the cork profile says, as general guidance rather than a cited test, that natural cork should not go in showers without proper sealing, so check the manufacturer's wet-area rating.[1] Linoleum is a sheet or tile with EN ISO 24011 as its product standard, declared in reaction-to-fire classes from Cfl-s1 to Bfl-s1 depending on product; its profile names alkaline cleaners as a main limit.[12] Bamboo flooring hardness is reported in different units (Brinell, N/mm², Janka) that cannot be compared across products.[3] See also our articles on cork flooring and Forbo Marmoleum.[13][15]
Wall and ceiling finishes. Cork wall tiles are glued-on interior wallcoverings: Granorte recommends a water-based contact adhesive on a dry, levelled wall, and its guarantee excludes wet or permanently damp areas.[2] Mycelium panels suit a dry, indoor, non-structural brief; the profile advises assuming dry interior conditions unless a manufacturer documents otherwise.[5] Bamboo boards and plywood are listed for walls, ceilings, furniture and joinery.[3]
Acoustic and interior surfaces. Three profiles give declared acoustic data. Cork wall tiles declare αw 0.05 to 0.25 (EN ISO 354); the profile says to ask for the figure for the exact product and mounting.[2] Mogu's mycelium panels, the most mature mycelium building product in its profile, are positioned for interior walls and ceilings, with a declared αw of 0.30–0.35 mounted directly and 0.45–0.50 with an insulation layer behind (ISO 354).[5] The sheep wool profile reports a weighted sound absorption of 1.00 at 100 mm for Thermafleece.[9] For linen upholstery, the profile says Martindale abrasion and ignition tests of the whole cover-and-filling combination decide a specification, and it found no linen-specific data for either.[6]
Structure and walls from bio-based infill. Hempcrete is non-loadbearing infill, most often in a timber frame, and, per BRE, should not be used below ground level.[4] Straw bale is used as site-built infill, as factory panels 26 to 43 cm deep (so the wall takes more floor area than a thin insulated wall) and, in the US model code, as plastered load-bearing walls in one-storey buildings.[8] Bamboo's structural product in its profile is the N-finity laminated beam, covered by German approval Z-9.1-895 for service classes 1 and 2 only.[3] Mass timber is outside this guide.
By constraint
- Fire class. Five of the seven insulation profiles we have published state Euroclass E for the basic product, and the profiles tie higher classes to particular products, finishes or conditions (see below).[1][7][4][8][10]
- Moisture. Most stated vapour resistance factors for the insulations are low (μ 1 to 4), with two exceptions printed in single documents (cork board MU20, flax 5.7; see below), while the profiles flag wetting as a limit for straw bale, hempcrete, mycelium and the cork wall tile guarantee (see below).[7][10][4][9][8][5][2]
- Embodied carbon declarations. EPDs exist, per the profiles, for cork insulation board, bamboo products, hempcrete blocks, wood fibre, straw bale, sheep wool, cellulose and linoleum; the hemp-fibre EPD has passed its printed validity date and the cork profile notes two different expiry dates, so confirm on the registry.[1][3][4][7][8][9][10][12] The profiles found no EPD for mycelium, flax insulation or a cork wall tile (one moulded panel only), and linen has fibre-level figures only.[5][11][2][6]
- Durability and maintenance. In our reading, durability evidence is uneven. Heat-treated, densified bamboo boards report durability class 1 (EN 350); cork can lighten under sustained UV and show impact marks (general guidance, not a cited test); linoleum is limited by alkaline cleaners; a 2025 review cited in the mycelium profile lists a lifespan of under 50 years among open challenges; and Straube, cited in the straw bale profile, says bale walls stay durable only if they can dry.[3][1][12][5][8]
- Availability. The flax insulation profile calls the market thin. In the mycelium profile, acoustic panels and packaging are on sale while insulation, furniture and leather are mostly pilots or stalled ventures. The three bamboo EPDs reviewed cover production in China, and transport to a European site adds 0.98 kg CO₂e per kg in Dasso's EPD, against 2.40 for fossil A1–A3.[11][5][3]
What cuts across the twelve profiles
Fire
Reaction to fire (a Euroclass) and fire resistance are different tests, as the hemp profile puts it.[4] Euroclass E is stated for cork insulation board, wood fibre (loose fill carries added fire retardant), hemp-fibre batts, straw bales on their own and cellulose in the basic case.[1][7][4][8][10] Higher classes come with conditions: cellulose B-s2, d0 where the ETA's end-use conditions are met; sheep wool B-s3,d0 for borate-treated loose fill; flax C on the Isovlas brochure; and mycelium B-s2-d0 only with the finish its datasheet labels "Fire-Proof". Separately, as fire resistance rather than reaction to fire, a German test certificate classifies a plastered straw bale timber-stud wall as F30-B (DIN 4102-2).[10][9][11][5][8] Upholstery is tested as a cover-and-filling combination under EN 1021-1, and floor coverings carry the flooring classes of EN 13501-1 (Cfl-s1 to Bfl-s1 for linoleum).[6][12]
Moisture
Stated vapour resistance is low: μ 1–3 for wood fibre, 1–3 for cellulose, 1–2 for hemp fibre, 1 to 4 for NITA-WOOL sheep wool loose fill, μ = 2 in the German straw bale approval and μ 2.8 for an IsoHemp hempcrete block.[7][10][4][9][8] Two profiles flag documents that disagree: cork board MU20 in the datasheet but MU1 on the ACERMI certificate, and flax μ below 2.2 for JUTA but 5.7 in the Isovlas brochure.[1][11] Several materials take up moisture: Thermafleece lists 7.21 % moisture content by mass at 50 % RH and 14.84 % at 95 % RH, and the mycelium profile reports water absorption from 6% to 436% in research composites, depending on fungus and substrate.[9][5] For straw bale, the German approval limits moisture uptake to 18 % by mass at 23 °C and 80 % RH, and the codes read cap bale moisture at 18 to 20 % at installation or first plaster coat.[8]
Declared carbon
Where a profile reports a negative A1–A3 total, it attributes the figure to stored biogenic carbon; for hempcrete blocks the A1–A3 total also takes credit for lime carbonation during curing and for the biogenic carbon in the wooden pallets. The figures below show the fossil and biogenic parts alongside wherever the profile states them, never netted. The wood fibre, straw bale, cellulose, sheep wool and linoleum profiles report that the EPDs model the carbon returning at end of life; the cork profile says its negative figure covers A1–A3 only.[7][8][10][9][12][1] Declared units differ: not comparable. They are grouped by unit only to show what each states.
Per m³
- Cork expanded insulation board (115 kg): GWP-total −2,040 kg CO₂e; GWP-fossil 82.8 kg CO₂e.[1]
- Wood fibre: STEICOtop board (140 kg/m³) GWP-total −138 kg CO₂e/m³, fossil +105, biogenic −244.[7]
- Straw bale: loose Baustroh bales at 100 kg/m³, fossil GWP 18.5 kg CO₂e, biogenic GWP −148, total −129.[8]
- Sheep wool: Isolena at 23.26 kg/m³, 16.9 kg CO₂e fossil, −36.4 biogenic, −19.3 total.[9]
- Bamboo: Smith & Fong plywood 250 kg CO₂e/m³ in its 2023 EPD.[3]
Per m² (different things per square metre)
- Hempcrete blocks: −17.38 kg CO₂e per m² of 36 cm wall in A1–A3, including credits of 13.91 kg CO₂ for lime carbonation and 11.54 for pallet biogenic carbon; cradle-to-grave +64.42. Hemp-fibre batts: −3.70 per m² at 100 mm (GWP-fossil +4.15), EPD validity passed.[4]
- Bamboo: MOSO X-treme cladding GWP-total −5.50 kg CO₂e/m² (19.9 kg) in A1–A3, of which fossil +23.8 and biogenic −29.4, but +17.9 across all declared modules.[3]
- Straw bale: EcoCocon average wall panel, fossil 17.4, biogenic −119, total −101.[8]
- Sheep wool: Thermafleece CosyWool roll at R = 1 m²K/W, 0.90 kg CO₂e fossil, −0.86 biogenic, 0.05 total.[9]
- Linoleum: Forbo Marmoleum sheet 2.5 mm per m² of installed floor, A1–A3 only: fossil GWP 2.83 kg CO₂e, biogenic −4.40, total −1.57 (Forbo's 2025 passport lists −0.67 for the same thickness under a different EPD reference).[12]
Per kg
- Cellulose: Isocell EPD −1.42 kg CO₂e total (fossil +0.13, biogenic −1.55); ECIA EPD −1.28 total (fossil +0.16, biogenic −1.43), both the cellulose profile's arithmetic from the EPD module values; biogenic carbon returns in C3.[10]
- Bamboo: Dasso boards +0.77 kg CO₂e/kg in A1–A3 (fossil +2.40, biogenic −1.64); Smith & Fong plywood 0.368 kg CO₂e/kg in its 2024 EPD.[3]
The profiles found no product declaration for mycelium (a peer-reviewed lab-scale LCA gives 0.3668 kg CO₂e per kg of hemp-based composite, cradle to gate, not a product declaration), flax insulation (fibre only: 0.854 kg CO₂e per kg of rescutched short fibre) or linen fabric (fibre-level figures only).[5][11][6]
Emissions and binders
Binders and treatments are where bio-based products meet other chemistry: phenol formaldehyde or phenolic resins (about 10–13%) in bamboo; a PET bi-component binder in Thermafleece sheep wool, while Isolena mats are needled with no adhesive, per its EPD; polyurethane resin in STEICO's dry-process sheathing board; boric acid above 0.1 % of mass in cellulose, listed as a substance of very high concern; borate, soda or salts in flax; and naturally occurring volatile compounds in cork, so "VOC-free" is not accurate.[3][9][7][10][11][1] In the profiles, emission evidence is uneven: Forbo declares TVOC below 0.05 mg/m³ after 28 days (EN 16516) for linoleum; Mogu's mycelium result is manufacturer-reported and its Indoor Air Comfort Gold label was not found on Eurofins' public list; and the profiles found no sourced emission test for hemp products, straw bale walls or linen fabrics.[12][5][4][8][6]
The 12 profiles
- Cork: The bark of the cork oak, harvested about every nine years without felling the tree, used for flooring, wall tiles, insulation board and objects.[1]
- Cork wall tiles: Glued-on interior wallcoverings of veneered or solid agglomerated cork, from 3 mm tiles to 30 mm 3D tiles.[2]
- Bamboo: A fast-growing grass that building products turn into beams, boards, plywood and decking by gluing and pressing strips.[3]
- Hemp and hempcrete: Two product families: hempcrete, hemp shiv bound with lime, as non-load-bearing infill, and hemp-fibre batts for insulation.[4]
- Mycelium: Fungal networks grown through agricultural residues and dried into lightweight composites; acoustic panels and packaging are on sale, other uses mostly pilots.[5]
- Linen: A textile spun and woven from flax, grown mainly in France, Belgium and the Netherlands, with environmental figures that cover the fibre rather than the fabric.[6]
- Wood fibre insulation: Insulation made from softwood chips and sold as flexible batts, rigid boards or loose fill.[7]
- Straw bale: Pressed cereal straw used as wall insulation or, in some codes, as a plastered load-bearing wall.[8]
- Sheep wool insulation: A mat, roll or loose-fill insulation made from washed, carded wool.[9]
- Cellulose insulation: Recycled paper, shredded and treated with mineral fire retardants, then blown into cavities and lofts.[10]
- Flax insulation: Insulation made from the short fibres left over when flax is processed for linen, sold as mats, boards and loose fill.[11]
- Linoleum flooring: A sheet or tile of oxidised linseed oil, rosin, wood flour and limestone on a jute backing; EN ISO 24011 is its product standard.[12]
Related: timber and wood. Cross-laminated timber, glulam, thermally modified wood and reclaimed wood have their own profiles and are not compared here.
Further reading. Our article Hemp Insulation vs Wood Fibre Insulation: Declared Data Compared sets those two products side by side from their declared data.[14]
Frequently asked questions about bio-based building materials
What counts as a bio-based building material in this guide?
In this guide it means a material whose main raw material is plant or animal biomass, as our profiles describe them. That is our editorial scope, not a standard or a certification. Several in-scope products also contain other components, such as phenolic resins in bamboo products, lime in hempcrete and limestone in linoleum.
Can I compare the thermal conductivity of bio-based insulation products directly?
Only within the same standard and test condition. The wood fibre profile reports a declared 0.038 W/(m·K) for batts and loose fill, but a University of Maine test of dry-process boards at 23.9 °C mean temperature found λ rising from 0.038 at 110 kg/m³ to 0.047–0.048 at 140–180 kg/m³. The straw bale profile gives 0.052 W/(m·K) as a design value in a 2014 German approval and 0.043 W/(m·K) dry at 10 °C in a European Technical Assessment.
What fire classes do bio-based insulation products have?
In five of the seven insulation profiles we have published, the stated class for the basic product is Euroclass E: cork insulation board, wood fibre, hemp-fibre batts, straw bales on their own, and cellulose in the basic case. Higher classes depend on the product, finish or conditions: sheep wool is stated from E to D-s2,d0 for mats and B-s3,d0 for one borate-treated loose fill, flax as E or C, and the hempcrete block (an infill, not a batt) as A2 with a non-flammable render. Specify against the classification report for the exact build-up.
How should I read the negative carbon figures in bio-based EPDs?
As stored biogenic carbon over the stages declared, not as a permanent credit. Wood fibre board is −138 kg CO₂e/m³ in A1–A3, of which fossil +105 and biogenic −244, and its EPD models incineration at end of life releasing the biogenic part again. Hempcrete blocks are −17.38 kg CO₂e per m² of 36 cm wall in A1–A3, a total that also credits lime carbonation and pallet carbon, but +64.42 cradle to grave. Declared units differ between products, so we do not compare or rank the figures.
Which documents should I ask for before specifying a bio-based material?
Taken together, the profiles' bottom lines ask for (our summary): the datasheet, ETA or declaration of performance for thermal and fire data, a current EPD checked on its registry, an emissions certificate for indoor air, the fire test for your exact build-up and the manufacturer's moisture limits for the assembly.
About these data
Every figure on this page comes from the linked profiles, each of which lists the primary sources behind its numbers (datasheets, approvals, ETAs, EPDs and registry entries). This guide adds no measurements and no sources of its own. Some profiles predate our comparison-table standard, so a cell may carry what a profile's fact sheet states rather than a row from a product table, and a cell reads "not stated" where the profile found no value. Registry statuses and validity dates are as each profile reports them on its own checking date: confirm them on the registry before specifying.
Sources
- Soul Materials, "Cork as a Sustainable Material: Properties, Uses and Certifications", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/cork. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for thermal conductivity, density, fire class, EPD figures, emissions and moisture of cork products, and the wet-area, UV and impact notes.
- Soul Materials, "Cork Wall Tiles: Formats, Acoustics, Fire Class and Fixing", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/cork-wall-tiles. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for tile properties, αw, fire class, fixing, emissions and the wet-area limits.
- Soul Materials, "Bamboo Flooring and Building Material: Properties, Uses and Certifications", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/bamboo. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for engineered bamboo properties, fire classes, EPD figures, approvals and emissions.
- Soul Materials, "Hemp and Hempcrete: Properties, Carbon Claims and Uses in Building and Design", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/hemp. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for hempcrete and hemp-fibre insulation properties, fire, carbon, moisture, drying and structure.
- Soul Materials, "Mycelium-Based Materials: Properties, Uses and What You Can Actually Buy", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/mycelium. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for maturity, Mogu Acoustic data, fire, moisture, emissions and the lack of EPDs.
- Soul Materials, "Linen Fabric for Interiors: Certification, Carbon Data and Performance", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/linen. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for textile fire testing, abrasion, fibre-level carbon and certificates.
- Soul Materials, "Wood Fiber (Fibre) Insulation: Performance, Carbon and Fire Data for Designers", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/wood-fibre-insulation. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for declared and tested conductivity, density, fire, EPD figures, moisture and settlement.
- Soul Materials, "Straw Bale Construction: Insulation, Fire, Moisture and Carbon Data", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/straw-bale. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for approval and ETA values, fire, moisture limits, EPD figures and codes.
- Soul Materials, "Sheep Wool Insulation: Properties, Fire, Carbon and Standards", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/sheep-wool-insulation. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for declared conductivity, density, fire, moth treatments, moisture, EPD figures and uses.
- Soul Materials, "Cellulose Insulation: recycled-paper loose fill, tested", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/cellulose-insulation. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for ETA and DoP values, installed densities, fire, EPD figures, boric acid, moisture and settlement.
- Soul Materials, "Flax Insulation: Properties, Fire Class and Approvals", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/flax-insulation. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for declared conductivity, density, fire, moisture, approvals, market thinness and the absence of an EPD.
- Soul Materials, "Linoleum Flooring: Composition, Standards and Carbon Data", material profile by Pilar Flores, /materials/linoleum. The profile lists its own primary sources; used here for composition, standard, fire class, EPD figures, emissions and cleaning limits.
- Soul Materials, "Sustainable Cork Flooring: What Wicanders and Granorte Declare", article by Pilar Flores, /post-cork. Linked as further reading; no figure on this page is taken from it.
- Soul Materials, "Hemp Insulation vs Wood Fibre Insulation: Declared Data Compared", article by Pilar Flores, /post-hemp-insulation. Linked as further reading; no figure on this page is taken from it.
- Soul Materials, "Forbo Marmoleum: Product Families, Declared Data and Certificates", article by Pilar Flores, /post-marmoleum. Linked as further reading; no figure on this page is taken from it.